We love sharing things on social media, and we also love seeing updates from our friends’ posts. From small things like photos of our meals, the view from the office window to important life events such as the birth of a child, a new job, and moving into a new home. We see these things every day on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.
It’s fun. It’s interesting. It’s inspiring. Until it gets boring. Irritating. Overwhelming.
Call it whatever you want, but sometimes, you just have to get away from it all. Even Selena Gomez, once the most followed celebrity on Instagram, had to take a break on social media.
Here’s how to delete your Instagram account without losing your photos. Because we know you still want to go back to those from time to time.
If you’re thinking about permanently deleting your Instagram account, the first logical thing to do is to create a backup of your photos and videos. It will be tedious to do this one-by-one as you may already have hundreds (if not thousands) of posts on your account. Thankfully, there’s an easy way to do it:
You may need to wait up to 24 hours for your request to be processed. A link to your requested files will be sent to the email address you used when you signed up for Instagram. It will take hours to complete the download, depending on the number of files you have on Instagram.
Alternatively, there are also apps such as Instaport which you can use to download your Instagram posts. It will also allow you to post them on other social media platforms.
You can’t delete your Instagram using your mobile phone’s Instagram app; you need to use a web browser. Here are the steps to do it:
If you have other Instagram accounts you want to delete, you can click on the username located at the upper right side of the page. Click on log out then log in to the account you want to delete.
After deleting your Instagram accounts, you won’t be able to log back in, and you can’t retrieve any photo or video. So make sure you have created a backup for all your posts.
If you can’t say goodbye to Instagram permanently, just take a short break by deactivating your account temporarily. Again, you need to open a browser since you can’t do this from the Instagram mobile app.
Your Instagram profile, photos, videos, and your comments on other people’s posts will be hidden. They will resurface when you reactivate your account.
To reactivate your account, all you have to do is to log back in on the Instagram mobile app.
Why deactivate your Instagram account when you can just hide embarrassing posts, like those pictures of you and your ex? Follow these steps:
The post will be hidden and will no longer appear on your Instagram profile unless you unhide it. To unarchive a post, follow these steps:
There are certainly other ways to hide posts without deactivating or deleting your account. You can block some users so they won’t see your profile. Or you can mute other users so you won’t see their stories and posts on your timeline.
However, if it’s a must for you to take a break from Instagram, follow the steps enumerated above. Then come back when you feel revitalized and ready for Instagram. If at some point you decide to delete your account permanently, don’t forget to backup all your posts.
Date: May 13, 2019 / Categories: Guide, / Author: Rich Drees