We’ve all been there before – you browse through your Instagram feed and profile with every intention to just enjoy and appreciate the good things in life. Then you chance upon a post that makes you want to hide.
You find yourself wanting to remove cringe-worthy pictures from your Instagram, but at the same time you don’t want to delete them for sentimental reasons (e.g. fun group pictures with all your best pals…and your ex). Another scenario is you just want to have a well-curated profile for your connections or possible employers to see, and having low-res, over-filtered selfies from 2012 won’t let you achieve that. Riri wouldn't need to hide this posting, your corporate job would likely not react well:
The good news is that Instagram has made it easy for you to hide posts from your timeline, without deleting them for, you know, future reference.
The Archive feature on Instagram was released in June of 2017, and it allows users to hide posted photos and videos without having to delete them. This feature is only available for versions 10.25 and up, so make sure your Instagram is up to date. To hide posts, do the following steps:
The photo or video you archived will no longer appear on your profile, but you can still access these photos later by tapping on the rewind button located at the upper right portion of your profile for iPhone users, and the top left for Android users. This will take you to the Posts Archive screen.
If you (get back with your ex) want to unhide these posts, follow these steps:
The post will then appear again in the exact same place it had been on your profile before you hid it.
Muting users is a relatively new feature introduced by Instagram in May of 2018. It enables you to hide the posts and stories of some people without unfollowing them. You may want to do this to:
Instead of unfollowing them, which is awkward when they find out, you can mute them instead so you won’t see their posts. Here’s how to hide their postings on Instagram:
Now your feed is free from the posts that person creates in the future. If you want to see them again you can always unmute them by going to their profile where you will see the “Unmute” option right below their bio. Tap it and the user will be unmuted.
Friends and families who tag you in their photos can be categorized into two groups:
When you don’t want tagged photos and videos to appear on your profile, you can do away with the awkwardness of having to untag yourself by hiding these posts. Hide tagged posts from your profile by following these steps:
You can show the post on your profile again by doing steps one and two above, and selecting “Show on My Profile.” If you need to do this for multiple posts, follow these steps:
You will no longer have to worry about tagged photos and videos sabotaging your profile because you can always hide them.
For years, Instagram didn’t have features that allowed users to hide posts easily. Users had to:
With the Archive and Mute features, Instagram users can easily hide posts they don’t want to see, and privacy is given more weight with the ability to hide tagged photos and videos of you so that your feed and profile can be curated without those cringeworthy and embarrassing moments haunting you.
Date: November 19, 2018 / Categories: Guide, Tips, / Author: Rich Drees